Daniel Francis

Reading the National Narrative

Berton Award Goes to Prairie Historian

Nov 21, 2018

Congratulations to Bill Waiser, this year's winner of the Governor General's History Award for Popular Media, better known as the Pierre Berton Award. Waiser has written many fine books and blogs regularly about the history of Western Canada.

Earlier in the year it was announced that the history awards would not be handed out by the Governor General herself, as has been the case for years. Too bad. The GG is apparently rethinking her priorities.

Nonetheless, the award is a great honour. Past winners include Tim Cook, Desmond Morton, Charlotte Gray, Peter Newman and, ahem, yours truly.